Wednesday, August 8, 2012

ARCs I'd Sock the Pope for... Part Two

The other day, I posted about ARCs that I'm pretty much dying for. Well, I really can't limit it to just 5, so here's part two. Here's the intro from the other post:

Ignore the title. I like the Pope a lot.

So there are just a few things on my wishlist that I need, like NOW. I know a lot of other people have made posts on this, so I decided to join the frenzy and provide me Matt Lauer style commentary. (AKA- It sucks and is totally unnecessary and contrived.)

NONE of these are sequels, because I hate reading sequels. It feels like too much work.

5. The Raven Boys


The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle, #1)Title: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: September 18th, 2012
Publisher: Scholastic Press
“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.
I wasn't a huge fan of Shiver by Maggie Steifvater, but I cannot deny that she writes so heart-achingly beautifully. In that vein, I'm very excited to see a new venture in fantasy.

4. Mystic City


Mystic City (Mystic City, #1) Title: Mystic City (Mystic City #1)
Author: Theo Lawrence
Release Date: October 9th, 2012
Publisher: Random House Children's
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided. A political rebellion ignited. A love that was meant to last forever.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.
I'll admit that this really doesn't sound all that exciting. However, I actually HAVE an e-arc of this (and I didn't even sock the Pope!) and I've read the first chapter and I'm quite excited. I'd love to get my grubby hands on a physical copy of this.

3. Renegade

Renegade (Elysium-Chronicles, #1)
Title: Renegade (Elysium-Chronicles #1)
Author: J.A. Souders
Release Date: November 13th, 2012
Publisher: Tor Teen
Since the age of three, sixteen-year-old Evelyn Winters has been trained to be Daughter of the People in the underwater utopia known as Elysium. Selected from hundreds of children for her ideal genes all her life she’s thought that everything was perfect; her world. Her people. The Law.

But when Gavin Hunter, a Surface Dweller, accidentally stumbles into their secluded little world, she’s forced to come to a startling realization: everything she knows is a lie. Her memories have been altered. Her mind and body aren’t under her own control. And the person she knows as Mother is a monster.

Together with Gavin she plans her escape, only to learn that her own mind is a ticking time bomb... and Mother has one last secret that will destroy them all.
I'm familiar with underwater utopias. (*cough* Bioshock *cough*). I'm also familiar with futuristic utopia literature. I'm participating on the blog tour for this, so I'm interested in seeing how this turns out.

2. Mind Games

Mind Games (Mind Games, #1)Title: Mind Games (Mind Games #1)
Author: Kiersten White
Release Date: February 19th, 2013
Publisher: HarperTEEN
Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future.

Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.
Two words: Cov and er.

1. The Archived

The Archived (The Archived, #1)Title: The Archived (The Archived #1)
Author: Victoria Schwab
Release Date: January 22nd, 2013
Publisher: Hyperion
Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was, a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often-violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn't just dangerous—it's a constant reminder of those Mac has lost. Da's death was hard enough, but now her little brother is gone too. Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself might crumble and fall.

In this haunting, richly imagined novel, Victoria Schwab reveals the thin lines between past and present, love and pain, trust and deceit, unbearable loss and hard-won redemption.
If this author is as awesome at writing as she is on Twitter, then I think I won't have any trouble loving this book.


  1. Hi! I also am so dying to read the Raven Boys and have heard so many people talking about it. And Mystic City seems like an interesting Romeo and Juliet twist. Hope you get to read all your ARCs one day without too much effort!

    1. "Too much effort"? PSSHHH. Socking the pope is easy. It's just the security I need to worry about.

  2. I am dying for every single one of these, especially RENEGADE and MIND GAMES D:< AKSDJLDFLSNVV I WANT THEM SO BADLY.

  3. Mystic City looks wonderful! I am really waiting for that book and so many more. How can you keep it under 5?